# Best Truckbase Alternatives for Small Fleets (2026) | Hemut

Canonical page: https://hemut.com/alternatives/truckbase
Last updated: 2026-10-29
If this disagrees with the HTML page, the HTML page wins.

Truckbase alternatives

# Best Truckbase alternatives for small and mid-size fleets (2026)

The best Truckbase alternatives for a small or mid-size asset carrier are Hemut Command, AscendTMS, TruckingOffice, Alvys, Rose Rocket and PCS, and Hemut Command is the one to look at first if you want a price published per truck, a free trial with no card and AI that reads your rate confirmations into loads. The others fit narrower cases: a per-user bill, the cheapest basic tool or a vendor-led rollout.

 [Get started for free](https://command.hemut.com/signup)[Every Hemut plan and rate](/pricing#pricing)

Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Each vendor's price, trial and features come from its own pages, opened that day and listed under Sources; Hemut facts come from hemut.com/pricing and the product. Hemut wrote this page, so weigh it with that in mind.

## Truckbase alternatives compared on what a small carrier checks first

Five things a small or mid-size asset carrier can check before talking to anyone: whether the price is on the website, whether you can try it without a card, whether you can start without a sales call, whether AI reads your rate confirmations, and what accounting comes with it.

Price on its site

Free trial

Start without a sales call

AI on rate confirmations and check calls

Accounting

Hemut Command

[$99 a month with 3 trucks included; 10 trucks is $302](/pricing#pricing)

[30 days, no card, no load limit](/pricing#pricing). No free tier

[Yes: self-serve signup](https://command.hemut.com/signup)

Reads rate confirmations and EDI 204 tenders into loads; AI voice agents make routine check calls

Driver settlements and invoices built from the load; QuickBooks sync; IFTA reports

Truckbase, the system this page is about

[From $290 a month, billed annually; no per-truck rate](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing)

None mentioned; free demo

Demo offered; [no signup flow described](https://www.truckbase.com/)

AI load importer named; rate confirmations and AI check calls not stated

Invoicing, settlements and QuickBooks sync listed; whether they are in the price is not stated

AscendTMS

[$69, $119 or $149 per user a month](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing); marketed as free to start

[30 days on Premium and Pro; no card](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing)

[Yes: self-serve, no demo needed](https://www.thefreetms.com/)

AI listed under Pro only; rate confirmations not stated

Invoicing and settlements on Basic; [AR/AP on Premium](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing)

TruckingOffice

[$25 to $90 a month on Basic, by truck count](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/)

30 days; no card to sign up

[Yes: sign up online](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/)

Not stated on its pricing page

Not stated on its pricing page

Alvys

[Not published; quoted on load volume](https://alvys.com/pricing)

[14 days on Foundations](https://alvys.com/pricing); card not stated

Foundations: self-serve trial. Growth and Scale: contact sales

AI load creation on Foundations; rate confirmations and check calls not stated

QuickBooks two-way sync on every plan; other accounting systems on higher tiers or add-ons

Rose Rocket

[From $2,080 a month](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing)

None; consultation and demo

No: book a consultation

AI agents on every plan; rate confirmations and check calls not stated

Invoicing and freight audit; accounting integrations named only as a category

PCS

[Not published; demo request](https://pcssoft.com/lp/request-tmp-demo/)

None stated

No: request a demo

Cortex AI for dispatch and backhauls; rate confirmations and check calls not stated

Built-in accounting module: AR/AP, payroll, driver settlements

Each cell comes from the vendor's own pages, opened October 29, 2026 and listed under Sources, and every number links the page it came from. "Not stated" means we did not find it on those pages, not that it does not exist.

## Which ELDs and accounting tools each Truckbase alternative names

The connections each vendor lists on its own site. Check your own ELD brand and accounting software against this table before you book a demo.

ELDs named on its site

Accounting and fuel connections named on its site

Hemut Command

Samsara, Motive, Geotab and Omnitracs

QuickBooks sync; EFS fuel card imports; factoring paperwork covered

Truckbase, the system this page is about

[Over 30 ELDs](https://www.truckbase.com/), with Samsara, Motive and Geotab shown

QuickBooks sync; factoring, fuel card and routing marked coming soon

AscendTMS

Not named on its pricing page

[Over 140 pre-installed integrations](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing); brands not listed there

TruckingOffice

Not stated on its pricing page

Not stated; [PC\*MILER mileage add-on](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/)

Alvys

ELD connections on every plan; Samsara Premium ELD is an add-on

QuickBooks two-way sync; NetSuite, Business Central and Sage on higher tiers or add-ons

Rose Rocket

[40+ integrations](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing) across ELD, accounting and EDI; brands not named

Accounting category only; QuickBooks not named

PCS

Not stated on its carrier page

Built-in accounting; QuickBooks not stated

Lists as published on October 29, 2026. A vendor may support more than its site names.

## The 6 options, one by one

Hemut first, since we know it best, then the rest. Each entry says who it fits, what it costs, what it does well and what to check before you sign.

### Hemut Command

**Who it fits:** Asset-based trucking carriers. Hemut Command is a TMS built for asset-based trucking carriers; it is not built for pure freight brokerages.

**Price:** $99 a month includes 3 trucks, then $29 per truck for trucks 4 to 15 and $24 per truck for trucks 16 to 30, so a 10-truck fleet pays $302 a month on Command. Fleets over 30 trucks get a quote. Every plan is on the [pricing page](/pricing#pricing).

**Free trial:** 30 days with no load limit and no credit card to start. There is no free tier.

**Good at:** Taking the retyping out of the office. Rate confirmations (PDFs) and EDI 204 load tenders are read into loads, and AI voice agents make routine check calls to drivers and record the answers on the load. Driver settlements and invoices are built from that same load record, invoices sync with QuickBooks, and IFTA reports come from imported EFS fuel card transactions and the fleet's own miles. Truck positions from Samsara, Motive, Geotab or Omnitracs show ETAs and arrival times on each load. Factoring paperwork and maintenance records, which many carriers buy separately, are covered too.

**Watch for:** Hemut is newer than the legacy platforms, McLeod included, so it has fewer years of installs behind it. There is no free tier, and Hemut costs more than TruckingOffice at every fleet size TruckingOffice publishes a price for (see both on the [Hemut pricing page](/pricing#pricing) and the [TruckingOffice pricing page](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/)). Its EDI support reads 204 load tenders, so check any other EDI message your customers need before you switch.

### AscendTMS

**Who it fits:** Freight brokers, carriers, fleets, 3PLs and shippers, per its [pricing page](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing). It is priced per office user rather than per truck.

**Price:** $69 (Basic), $119 (Premium) or $149 (Pro) per user a month, with no setup fee or contract, and no charge for drivers, trucks or loads, per its [pricing page](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing).

**Free trial:** A 30 day free trial is shown on the Premium and Pro features, and no credit card is needed, per its [pricing page](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing).

**Good at:** A long feature list and a fast start. Its [pricing page](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing) lists over 140 pre-installed integrations, invoicing, settlements, a shipper CRM, e-signatures and outbound EDI on Pro, and its [home page](https://www.thefreetms.com/) says there is no need to schedule a demo.

**Watch for:** The bill grows with every office user, and receivables and payables (AR/AP) need Premium. Its [home page](https://www.thefreetms.com/) says "Pricing plans start at zero dollars", but its [pricing page](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing) lists Basic at $69 per user a month and shows no permanent free plan, only the 30 day trial. The pricing page mentions AI only under Pro, and does not mention rate confirmations or named ELDs.

### TruckingOffice

**Who it fits:** Owner-operators and small fleets that want simple load and trip entry at a low, flat monthly price.

**Price:** Basic is $25 a month for 1 to 2 trucks, $55 for 3 to 7 and $90 for 8 or more; Pro is $35, $75 and $130 for the same sizes. PC\*MILER mileage is an add-on from $5 a month. All on its [pricing page](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/).

**Free trial:** 30 days, no credit card.

**Good at:** The lowest published entry price here, flat by fleet size, with no per-user fees and no contract, per its [pricing page](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/). Pro adds LTL as well as full truckload.

**Watch for:** Its [pricing page](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/) does not mention QuickBooks, settlements, ELD tracking, AI or rate confirmations, so ask about each one you need before you compare on price alone.

### Alvys

**Who it fits:** Fleets and brokers that want an AI-forward TMS with many integrations, billed per load rather than per truck or per user.

**Price:** Not published. All three plans are quoted on your load volume, with no setup fee, per its [pricing page](https://alvys.com/pricing).

**Free trial:** 14 days on the Foundations plan.

**Good at:** Integrations in the box. Its [pricing page](https://alvys.com/pricing) lists QuickBooks two-way sync and ELD connections on every plan, AI load creation on Foundations and a self-serve trial on that plan.

**Watch for:** You cannot work out your bill before a sales conversation on any plan, and Growth and Scale are "contact sales" on its [pricing page](https://alvys.com/pricing). EDI partners are capped by plan, with per-partner pricing above the cap, and the page says most operations are live in under 2 to 4 weeks. Rate confirmations and check calls are not mentioned.

### Rose Rocket

**Who it fits:** Brokers and carriers that want a configurable platform with a vendor-led implementation.

**Price:** Starting at $2,080 a month for the Full Service Platform; Enterprise is custom, per its [pricing page](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing).

**Free trial:** None on its pricing page, which offers a consultation and live demo.

**Good at:** Configurability and hands-on rollout. Its [pricing page](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing) lists AI agents on every plan, 40+ integrations covering ELD, accounting and EDI, invoicing with freight audit, and a guaranteed go-live in 90 days.

**Watch for:** The entry price is the highest on this page, and a 90 day go-live, per its [pricing page](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing), is a rollout rather than a same-day start. The page does not mention rate confirmations or check calls.

### PCS

**Who it fits:** Asset-based carriers running 50 to 1,000 trucks, per its [carrier page](https://pcssoft.com/products/tms/carrier).

**Price:** Not published; its carrier page offers a [demo request](https://pcssoft.com/lp/request-tmp-demo/).

**Free trial:** None on its carrier page.

**Good at:** Back office depth for larger fleets. Its [carrier page](https://pcssoft.com/products/tms/carrier) describes a built-in accounting module covering receivables, payables, payroll and driver settlements, and Cortex AI for driver recommendations, load ranking and backhauls.

**Watch for:** It is sized for bigger fleets than most readers of this page run, and its FAQ says most carriers are up and running 30 to 90 days after signing, per its [carrier page](https://pcssoft.com/products/tms/carrier). Rate confirmations, check calls, QuickBooks and ELD brands are not mentioned there.

## Where Truckbase is the stronger fit

Truckbase is the closest rival to Hemut for a growing asset carrier, and it has real strengths. Its [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) says it is turnkey at 5 trucks and powerful enough for 50.

### Hands-on onboarding

Its [pricing page](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing) lists free live virtual onboarding and implementation, plus unlimited US-based 24-hour support, in every plan, with on-site training for larger fleets.

### A long ELD list

Its [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) says it connects to over 30 ELDs, with Samsara, Motive, Geotab and others shown. If your device is on an unusual brand, check that list first.

### What to check before you book the demo

Its [pricing page](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing) states a $290 a month minimum billed annually and no per-truck rate, and offers a demo rather than a trial. Its [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) names an AI load importer, not rate confirmations or AI check calls.

## How to choose a Truckbase alternative

Put the same six questions to every vendor, Hemut included, before you book a demo.

-   Is the price on the website, per truck? If a vendor quotes only after a demo, you cannot work out your own monthly bill first.
-   Can you start today without a sales call? A free trial with no card lets you test real loads before anyone books your calendar.
-   Is accounting included or extra? Ask whether invoicing, driver settlements and QuickBooks sync are in the plan or a separate purchase.
-   Does it read rate confirmations for you? Ask whether a rate confirmation PDF becomes a load without retyping, and whether routine check calls are automated.
-   Does it connect to your ELD and your accounting software? Check your own brands against the second table, not the vendor's logo count.
-   What is the exit? Look for contracts or annual billing, and ask whether you can take your data with you.

## Keep reading

Where to go next.

-   What Hemut costs for your fleet size: [Hemut pricing](/pricing#pricing)
-   The same comparison against the legacy incumbent: [McLeod alternatives](/alternatives/mcleod)
-   The TMS that markets itself as free: [AscendTMS alternatives](/alternatives/ascendtms)
-   Hemut and Alvys side by side: [Hemut vs Alvys](/compare/hemut-vs-alvys)

## Sources

Pages opened October 29, 2026.

-   Truckbase pricing page, [truckbase.com/pricing](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing): pricing models, "$290 / month (billed annually)" minimum, free onboarding, unlimited US-based support, free demo, no trial mentioned
-   Truckbase home page, [truckbase.com](https://www.truckbase.com/): "turnkey at 5 trucks and powerful enough for 50 trucks", AI load importer, QuickBooks, settlements, over 30 ELDs, integrations marked coming soon
-   AscendTMS pricing page, [thefreetms.com/pricing](https://www.thefreetms.com/pricing): Basic $69, Premium $119, Pro $149 per user a month, 30 day trial, no card, over 140 integrations
-   AscendTMS home page, [thefreetms.com](https://www.thefreetms.com/): "Pricing plans start at zero dollars", self-serve signup, no demo needed
-   TruckingOffice pricing page, [truckingoffice.com](https://www.truckingoffice.com/tms/transportation-management-system-pricing/): Basic and Pro prices by truck count, 30 day trial with no card
-   Alvys pricing page, [alvys.com/pricing](https://alvys.com/pricing): per-load quotes, 14 day trial on Foundations, AI load creation, QuickBooks sync
-   Rose Rocket pricing page, [roserocket.com/pricing](https://www.roserocket.com/pricing): "Starting at $2080/month", AI agents, 40+ integrations, 90-day go-live
-   PCS carrier TMS page, [pcssoft.com](https://pcssoft.com/products/tms/carrier): "50 to 1,000 trucks", accounting module, Cortex AI, demo request
-   Hemut: plan prices from the pricing contract published on [hemut.com/pricing](/pricing#pricing); capabilities from Hemut's verified facts list

## Questions

What is the best Truckbase alternative for a small asset carrier?

Hemut Command fits a small or mid-size asset carrier that wants a published per-truck price, a trial with no card and AI that reads rate confirmations into loads. AscendTMS, TruckingOffice, Alvys, Rose Rocket and PCS each fit a narrower case, shown in the tables above.

How much does Truckbase cost?

Its [pricing page](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing) states a minimum of $290 a month billed annually and lists per truck, per driver, per load, flat annual and custom models without a dollar rate. Hemut Command's published price is $99 a month with 3 trucks included, and $302 a month for 10 trucks, per its [pricing page](/pricing#pricing).

Does Truckbase have a free trial?

Its [pricing page](https://www.truckbase.com/pricing) and [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) offer a free demo and do not mention a free trial. Hemut offers 30 days with no card and no load limit ([pricing page](/pricing#pricing)), and has no free tier.

Does Truckbase read rate confirmations?

Its [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) names an AI-powered load importer and does not mention rate confirmations or AI check calls. Hemut reads rate confirmation PDFs and EDI 204 tenders into loads, and its AI voice agents make routine check calls to drivers.

Which ELDs does Truckbase work with?

Its [home page](https://www.truckbase.com/) says it connects to over 30 ELDs and shows Samsara, Motive and Geotab among them. Hemut reads truck position from Samsara, Motive, Geotab and Omnitracs.

## Try Hemut on your own loads

30 days with no load limit, and no credit card to start.

 [Get started for free](https://command.hemut.com/signup)[Book a walkthrough](https://calendar.app.google/cWdBwYuiu2swPpkt7)

## Step into the future of freight. Partner with Hemut.

 [Get started for free](https://command.hemut.com/signup)
